Post-Doctoral Fellow in Research Career Management(University of Reading,UK); PhD LiteracyDevelopment, University of Reading, UK; Master in Applied Linguistics (UZ);Graduate Certificate in Education (Grad C.E., UZ; B.A, Fourah Bay College (University of Sierra Leone.)


Welcome Note

The Faculty of Arts, Theology, Culture and Heritage Studies is currently in the process of growth and development. It houses two programs: Bachelor of Theology Honours Degree and Bachelor of Arts Honours Media and Development Studies.
The Faculty focuses on the development of academics and professionals equipped to analyze, critique, evaluate and apply concepts to contemporary situations in an inclusive environment fostering heritage-based socio-political and economic developmental issues. The faculty aims at stimulating an on-going interaction between society, students and graduates leading the sensitization of parties to the on-going need for innovation and industrialization based on specific heritages of given contexts.

The Theology programme is currently held at the two centres: Harare and Masvingo-Morgenster. The program is run by experts holding various capacities in Church and Community programmes.

Faculty Vision

The vision is to be a Theological Faculty of excellence participating in God’s mission in the real context in time and space.


The Faculty’smission is to be committed to equipping students through quality theological training to become contextually accountable competent servant leaders, managing God’s resources with good stewardship, and seeking to become caring community leaders who give credence to the Kingdom of God.

Functions of the Faculty

The core mandate of the Faculty is to teach, research, engage in community development activities, innovate and industrialize at every opportunity. The Faculty endeavours to provide stakeholder satisfaction through quality upgrading of Ministers of religion, of the Reformed Church in Zimbabwe as well equally as other churches.


The Faculty currently has one programme running: Bachelor of Theology Honours Degree with the Bachelor of Arts Honours Media and Development Studies still to enroll a viable class. While for the past years the Theology program was only offered at Morgenster Campus, it is now offered at the RCU Harare Campus following the multi-campus approach adopted by the University.

The Faculty is composed of two departments: The Department of Theology and Media and Development Studies.






To be admitted to the programme, candidates must be in possession of a minimum of five O-level including English and at least an E in Mathematics plus recognised diploma in Theology and or Religious Studies or an A-level certificate with passes in Divinity and any two of the following subjects: English, Shona / Ndebele, Sociology. Such A-level certificate must be authenticated by ZIMSEC to be genuine. (Applicants with foreign qualifications need to provide proof of authenticity of their certificates).


  • Holders of other qualifications may be admitted by Senate, subject to availability of places.
  • Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) will be considered on a case-to-case basis. 


  • A student may, in approved cases, be exempted from certain courses that he/she successfully completed at any other institution, provided that the course content covered is equivalent to that offered by the RCU, and provided the student completes at least 75% of the programme course through the RCU.
  • The student must fulfill the following conditions to qualify for exemption:
      • The syllabus of the institution at which the student completed the course, must be equivalent in content to 80% of the course being applied for exemption.
      • The student must have obtained a minimum pass of 60%, 2.2 or B, whichever is applicable.
      • To ascertain the student’s competence in the course for which exemption is requested, the RCU may grant exemption by requesting that the student takes an exemption examination for the course(s) applied for.

The Bachelor of Theology Honours Degree is a four (4) year conventional full time programme designed to academically and spiritually equip prospective ministers called to congregational ministry and others who wish to acquire a professional qualification.  The target groups are:  students who wish to prepare for congregational ministry, upgrade their academic status, act as Christian leaders in para-Church and ecumenical organisations or in society in general and intend caring for people in need.

Each candidate is required to study a total of forty (40) courses over four (4) years. Each course is worth eleven (11) credits except for HBTH 301 -Work Relate Learning Action Research twenty (20) credits, HBTH 302-Work Related Learning Employer’s report – Thirty-three (33) credits and HBTH 303-Work Related Learning Academic Supervisor’s assessment – seventy-nine credits. The supervised Dissertation has a weight of twenty-four (22) credits. 

A candidate is expected to accumulate a minimum total of five hundred and six (560) credit points to be considered to have met the requirements of the Bachelor of Theology Honours.

Part one: 132 credits.

Part two: 132 credits.

Part three: 132credits.

Part four: 132 credits.

Total credits:  528 credits.

To be admitted to the programme, a candidate must normally have:

  • At least five (5) O-Level passes at Grade C or better or their equivalent including English Language. In addition, a candidate must have at least two (2) A’ Level passes; or
  • Attained a satisfactory standard of performance on any entrance test which the University may devise for the purposes of entry.
  • Other qualifications acquired by a candidate that may be approved by the Senate.

Mature Entry

  • Candidates can be accepted for mature entry if they have five (5) O-levels including English Language and Mathematics and have worked for a Media organization for more than three years. The said candidates should be twenty-three (23) years of age or over.

Special Entry

  • Candidates can be accepted for special entry if they holders of other qualifications that may be admitted by the Senate, subject to the availability of places.
  • Candidates with Recognised Prior Learning (RLP) will be considered for admission on a case to case basis.

Exemption qualifications

  • Candidates who have been doing media and development work at a recognized institution and have acquired appropriate qualification to the satisfaction of the Department of Media and Development Studies can be exempted in such other courses deemed appropriate.

Graduates in the programme of Media and Development Studies have varied career opportunities which include the following: print and broadcasting media organisations, social research organisations, advertising agencies, non-governmental organisations, public relations/customer care departments in both private and public organisations, digital publishing organisations, media consultancy and opening up own media-related enterprises.

The curriculum for Bachelor of Arts Honours Degree in Media and Development Studies comprises at least forty (40) courses, including a work-related learning report, continuous assessment at work and a dissertation. Each course is worth ten (10) credits except work related learning and dissertation which are one hundred and twenty (120) and twenty-two (22) credits respectively.

The student is expected to accumulate a minimum of four hundred and ninety-two (492) credit points and maximum of five hundred and six (506) credits to be considered to have met the requirements of the Bachelor of Arts Honours Degree in Media and Development Studies.

Part 1                     = 120 credits

Part 2                     = 120 credits

Part 3                     = 120 credits

Part 4                     = 132 credits

Total                     = 492 credits